Skip to content

What We Don’t Know Can Hurt Us

July 7, 2014

As I was speaking last night out at Elk Mountain Community Church, which I always enjoy, I made an unexpected discovery. I confess: I never would have even considered this a possibility had I not been forced to see it with my own eyes. 

My children have grown up in the era of PowerPoint–all the words to songs are up on the screen and in an easy-to-follow format. They have no internet or computer access out at this particular little church, nor any place to display it even if they did. Thus, no PowerPoint. So when one of my sons joined me for the first time out there, he had to use a hymn book. 

He had no idea how to follow the lyrics down the page. It all looked very confusing to him. I wonder how many other kids have never seen a hymnal before and have no idea how to read the lyrics on the page?

It has me wondering–how many people have no idea what the real benefits are to a small group? Am I guilty of just assuming people understand the importance of it but in reality it’s a totally foreign world to them? 

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

